This is Derek Gerrish writing you.

The “system” in Maine is most definitely absurd. Well, maybe not all of Maine, and maybe not for everybody. I can only speak for myself from my own experiences. I’m an average-looking 20 year old white male, 5′ 6″, 150 lbs at most nothing unordinary or anything that should stick out to the Sanford Police but they still seem to have a “hard-on” for me. I’m involved in the system because of a few domestic disputes between my girlfriend’s mother and myself.

Let’s start out at the very beginning to get the big picture here.

Back in ’07, my girlfriend and I started dating, I soon moved in with her at her mother’s house. Sharon, my girlfriend’s mother, adored me, what was there not to like? I worked full time, made good money, and took great care of her daughter, Sashia, and Sashia’s 1 year old.

After a couple months, we decided to get our own place. So the three of us, Sashia, her daughter, and myself moved out. I furnished the whole apartment, I paid the rent and all the bills. I was still very close with Sharon. I bought her tons of furniture from Ashleys, enough to furnish her whole house also. I took Sharon to dinner almost every night. I spent more time with Sharon than I did her daughter!

Soon after, I lost my job.

Sharon tried getting Sashia to leave me. And Sashia wouldn’t. So Sharon started to call DHS on us, making false accusations of me being abusive and a drug dealer! So DHS got involved, and without any proper investigation of the claims, not even talking to me to evaluate and access, they tell Sashia her daughter is not allowed around me! They called me a “danger to her safety…” And said if her daughter were around me, they would take her away, all because of a few  bogus reports.

Sashia and I still continued to see each other, she moved in to her mom’s and came over without Savannah. So what does Sharon do to push the issue of a break-up? She gets a restraining order on me. Now, Sharon would follow me, harass me, and show up places where I already was. She started making bogus calls to the police saying that I was making contact with her!

I was incarcerated several times on a he-says-she-says story with no witnesses or proof.

After that I’m on bail conditions, and every single time I walk through town, I’m immediately pulled over, and searched. This happened at least 20 times in one month, no exaggeration. Due to Sharon’s false claims, they labelled or “stereotyped” me as a drug dealer and harassed me whenever they got the chance. And due to her false accusation, I spent more than 4 months in York County Jail, 3 of which her daughter was pregnant with my first child.

Not only was I unjustly accused of abuse, negligence, and ignorance of the law by Sharon, I was also automatically presumed guilty, not only by the Sanford Police, but by DHS on false claims. I’ve lost my step-daughter and 4 months of my life —

and now DHS is saying I won’t be able to see my newborn because of all the stuff Sharon has started!

This is not right. Please help.

– Derek Gerrish


