My crime was escape and drugs. I was sentenced to 11 years. I was a heroin addict, and I’m bipolar. My favorite music is grunge & rap. Was I offered rehab or mental health treatment as an alternative to prison? No. Do I have trauma in my past? No.  Traumatic brain injury – yes. My favorite color is purple. If (like in the 50s) I’d been offered the choice of jail or the army, I’d have joined up.

To the candidates for governor, I ask: the overcrowding of our prisons – why? So many non violent people are just here, you know, hanging out. Why?

I have great family support & when I leave here my  mission is to travel – out of Maine! As fast as I can! My favorite beverage served here in the chow hall is the root beer. My favorite animal, correctly, is the pit bull.

A quote:

“To keep your character intact you cannot stoop to filthy acts. It makes it easier to stoop the next time.”
– Katherine Hepburn

Thanks,

– J.

