Lately my family and friends have been dropping like flies

Too often it seems that another of my own meet their demise

I am clearly aware that ones’ life can never be endless

though I now feel too young to be left lonely and friendless

I sometimes think of friends who have made their amends

I secretly wish for a seat at my own funeral just to see who attends

when it’s my time to go I’ll leave instructions for a traditional Irish wake

The mixture of hate and remorse on the faces a pleasantly bitter pill to take

As yet it is too soon to go with my mortality beginning to show

being humans in middle age we simply fear that which we do not know

so to those who were thoughtless enough not to portend their own pass

I’ll see you again one day old friends but until then you can kiss my ass.

