I particularly enjoyed this book I read which had “twenty statements” and “give yourself permission list.” I have never thought about asking myself those questions, and yes, it did feel unusual or unnatural. The book had “Have to statements” which reminded me of a challenge class I had to take. The Challenge class was a behavior management/improvement class. That I was forced to take, one of the books focused on the self-talk we have. The words have to, need to, and must were pointed out as absolutes. Words that lock you into a way or thinking or a course of action. Ever since that class I have made it a point to if not cut back then watch carefully my use of those words.

It had a part on “the three ways we stress out when speaking” which gave me some good pointers for ways to deal with stress. I love to talk and do not give that nervous when speaking in front of others, yet because I tend to speak fast anyway and do not enunciate properly nervous tends to make it hard to understand me. Two things that will be very helpful to me is to remember to release my tension before I speak and that the audience is on your side. I will use some tips that I learned in the book, that I appear much more relaxed then I am, to make sure that I have something important to say, to concentrate on what is said, to practice my speech, and to visualize success.

“If you’re never scared, or embarrassed, or hurt, it means you never take any chances.”

-Julia Sorel

As I Am,

Prince

prince

